Thanks to the continued support of MediaStorm, we are delighted to announce that our Grand Prize, Second and Third Place Winners will receive free access to a MediaStorm Multimedia One-day Workshop*, and free access to MediaStorm’s Online Training Videos.

MediaStorm’s One-Day Workshops provide participants an overview of multimedia storytelling approaches while engaging participants in discussion about the most appropriate ways to create a multimedia story. Through real world examples, MediaStorm Executive Producer, Brian Storm, will share tips and techniques to improve reporting, editing and distributing your multimedia project.

MediaStorm Online Training Videos offer essential tools and techniques proven to enhance multimedia production quality. Created from years of live training experience, the online training videos provide useful tips no matter your role in today’s multimedia industry. MediaStorm’s award-winning team of producers and cinematographers lead the online training videos with lessons learned from their experience producing multimedia publications and training groups and organisations around the world. The MediaStorm Online Training Video series now includes five modules. The Reporting and Post-production tracks teach the theory and skills needed to successfully create multimedia stories.

In recognition of their accomplishment, Brian Storm, has generously agreed to retrospectively award all of last year’s winners the same prize.

We thank MediaStorm for their commitment to assisting in the professional development of emerging documentary photographers and photojournalists from around the world.

*Attendees are responsible for their own transportation and accommodation during the workshop.

The 2016 Award Theme – “Justice”

The theme of this years IAFOR Documentary Photography Award is “Justice”. We hope that the broad nature of this theme will encourage photographers to submit work that explores justice from a variety of perspectives.

The final submission deadline for the IAFOR Documentary Photography Award is midnight on June 1st, 2016 (Greenwich Mean Time – GMT). Applicants must be younger than 31 years old on June 1st 2016 OR enrolled in part-time or full time education on June 1st 2016 (proof may be required). Please ensure that you carefully follow the instructions listed on the submission requirements page before submitting your work.

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter for updates.

Image by Olga Ingurazova | 2015 Commended Entry

Thaddeus Pope

Posted by Thaddeus Pope

Thaddeus Pope is the Director of Design, Media & Marketing for The International Academic Forum (IAFOR) and the Creative Director of the IAFOR Documentary Photography Award.